City of Big Bear Lake - Department of Water and Power

Report Created: 1/29/2020

Click here for a PDF copy

The City of Big Bear Lake operates its water system through its Department of Water and Power (DWP). Although the City is the responsible entity, its charter and documents refer to the DWP as the water entity. The DWP serves customers in the City of Big Bear Lake and the unincorporated areas of Fawnskin, Erwin Lake, Lake Williams, Sugarloaf and Moonridge. The DWP is governed by a five-member board of commissioners appointed by the City Council which includes the ability for the seating of a non-city representative. In 2012 the DWP assumed reporting responsibility for its pension obligations with the San Bernardino County Employees’ Retirement Association. The DWP does not conduct its own individual financial statements, but its activities are identified separately in the City’s financial statements (see link below). The agency retirement plan is administered by SBCERA.

City of Big Bear Lake